Association of Black Cardiologist
Reduce The Gap
Our Goal is to Reduce the Cardiovascular Disease Disparity Gap by 20% by 2020
Read More

Member Services

We are a nonprofit organization with an international membership of 1,500 health professionals, lay members of the community (Community Health Advocates), corporate members, and institutional members, dedicated to eliminating the disparities related to cardiovascular disease in all people of color.
Related Links:

DR. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Health Promotion Award

Award NameDescriptionEligibility The Award Deadline Apply
Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Health Promotion AwardAn annual award presented to an individual who has pioneered programs and innovative thinking that improve the health status in African American communities.
The Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Health Promotion Award (formerly the Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Innovation Award) was created in 1990 to recognize innovative programs designed to prevent and reduce cardiovascular diseases in African Americans. Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr., the award's namesake, was a founding member of the ABC and a leading proponent of community-based cardiovascular disease prevention and reduction programs.
A healthcare advocate whose leadership has resulted in demonstratable health promotion/health education activities that contributes to the prevention and reduction of cardiovascular diseases.
A plaque is presented to the winner; and a commemorative featuring past winners is on-display at the ABC Headquarters. This award is conferred in conjunction with the Annual Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Memorial Symposium (preceding the NMA Annual Conference and Scientific Assembly)   Apply
Past Recipients: The ABC Awards Committee selected the following for the Dr. Walter M. Booker, Sr. Health Promotion Award:
1990 L. Julian Haywood, MD
1991 Luther T. Clark, MD
1992 Tazwell Banks, MD
1993 Richard A. Williams, MD
1994 *
1995 James L. Potts, MD
1996 *
1997 George A. Mensah, MD
1998 Louis T. Kanda, MD
1999 Paul L. Underwood, MD
2000 Anne L. Taylor, MD
2001 Henry W. Foster, MD
2002 Keith C. Ferdinand, MD
2003 Lynne V. Perry-Bottinger, MD
2004 Jackson T. Wright, MD, PhD
2005-09 *
2010 The First Lady of the USA Mrs. Michelle Obama
2011 Bruce Johnson, Anchor WUSA - TV9, CBS
2012 Larry Lucas Vice President, PhRMA

* Award not conferredA scholar of epidemiology or leader in the promotion of epidemiologic research and projects that promote the prevention and reduction of cardiovascular diseases.Two complimentary tickets to the Annual President's Awards Dinner; a plaque presented to the winner; and a commemorative name plate included on the plaque displayed at the ABC Headquarters. October 17, 2007 (ABC member nominations accepted)
The ABC Awards Selection Committee reserves the right to make the final selections. Barbara Hutchinson, MD,
Chair Bernard Ashby, MD
Jennifer Ellis, MD
Icilma Fergus, MD
Karen Gibson-Serrette
Mrs. Queen Smith
Mrs. Sonia Williams Rochelle Wyche, MD