Association of Black Cardiologist
Reduce The Gap
Our Goal is to Reduce the Cardiovascular Disease Disparity Gap by 20% by 2020
Read More

Member Services

We are a nonprofit organization with an international membership of 1,500 health professionals, lay members of the community (Community Health Advocates), corporate members, and institutional members, dedicated to eliminating the disparities related to cardiovascular disease in all people of color.
Related Links:

Dr. Daniel D. Savage Memorial Science Award 2012

Award NameDescriptionEligibility The Award Deadline
Dr. Daniel D. Savage Memorial Science AwardThe Association of Black Cardiologists, Inc. (ABC) Awards Selection Committee is pleased to announce that nominations are open for the 2012 Dr. Daniel D. Savage Memorial Science Award (ABC's highest honor) was initiated in 1990 to recognize scientific achievement in the areas of cardiovascular disease and research. In acknowledgment of his life and work, this annual award is named after Daniel D. Savage, MD, PhD, who was heralded by his peers as the first to determine the role of Left Ventricular Hypertrophy (LVH) plays in cardiovascular disease. It is a requirement that nominees and award recipients are members of the ABC. Self-nominations are also accepted and prior award recipients may not receive an award again in the same category. A scientist or researcher who has made major contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge in the field of cardiovascular medicine.
Two complimentary tickets to the President's Awards Dinner; a plaque is presented to the winner along with a $2,000 cash award; and a trophy featuring past winners is on-display at the ABC Headquarters. May 30, 2012
Past Recipients: The ABC Awards Committee selected the following for the Dr. Daniel D. Savage Memorial Science Award:
1990 Daniel D. Savage, MD, PhD (posthumous)
1991 John Thomas, Jr., MD
1992 Charles K. Francis, MD
1993 Kim A. Williams, MD
1994 Richard S. Cooper, MD
1995 Richard F. Gillum, MD
1996 Luther T. Clark, MD
1997 Judith Gwathmey, VMD, PhD
1998 John M. Flack, MD, MPH
1999 Elizabeth O. Ofili, MD, MPH
2000 Augustus O. Grant, MD, PhD
2001 James R. Gavin, III, MD, PhD
2002 Clyde W. Yancy, MD
2003 Herman A. Taylor, Jr., MD
2004 Gary H. Gibbons, MD
2005 Anne L. Taylor, MD
2006 George A. Mensah, MD
2007 Jackson T. Wright, MD
2008 Richard Allen Williams, MD
2009 Paul M. Ridker, MD, MPH
2010 No Award Conferred
2011 Ivor Benjamin, MD
2012 Amelia J. Benjamin, MD
The ABC Awards Selection Committee reserves the right to make the final selections. Barbara Hutchinson, MD,
Chair Bernard Ashby, MD
Jennifer Ellis, MD
Icilma Fergus, MD
Karen Gibson-Serrette
Mrs. Queen Smith
Mrs. Sonia Williams Rochelle Wyche, MD